Personality Cafe banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I don't know what's wrong with me but I need help to figure things out...

Constantly, and I mean constantly, I'm thinking about what I should do with my life. I'm a single mom with a 13 month old child, currently on maternal leave, currently unemployed.

I have two different thoughts that swirls around in my head.

Number one; I hate my occupation. I'm an network engineer, self-taught, and worked at several big companies and I am mainly very happy with the years that I have spent in this business (only 6 years though). Since computers have been one of the biggest interests in my life I thought it would be a great idea to have that as my occupation. I don't know if this is the problem, that I started working with computers that has made me recent this hobby and even the occupation.
I hate sitting all day in front of a computer, the thought of having to fix a broken network could make me puke and if my own computer is not working I just want to throw out of the window, and if I did, I'm not even sure I would buy a new one ever again...
Is this just a phase? Should I ride out the storm or is it time that I do something else?

Number two; Hobbies...
As said earlier, computers were my hobby for a long time. Now it's not...
One other hobby I have is cars. I love them! Driving them, repairing them... I love the smell of gasoline, my body shivers when I hear a revving motor and I become like a child on Christmas morning when I get the opportunity to play with a BMW E34 M5. This is my absolute joy! (I guess I should learn from past mistakes and not take up a career as a mechanic, maybe my interest in cars will die?)