Personality Cafe banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Read Only
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just figured out that I have ADHD. I exhibit all the symptoms. Ever since first grade I remember being told that I was a bad listener. I didn't have the ability to focus and sustain mental effort. I couldn't stand having to listen to the teacher talk and preferred reading the textbook. This continued until it started to affect my academic performance in 5th grade. I remember failing two math tests and getting average grades for the first time. I didn't notice this in 6th-9th grade. It was almost like it didn't exist then. Only recently have things changed. The past two weeks have been some of my worst. I am a sophomore in high school and I genuinely am unable to concentrate. This is extremely frustrating as I can't motivate myself to complete homework as my level of mind-wandering is at an all-time high. My thoughts are similar to a delicate chain that easily breaks. This may be just due to puberty and adolescence but I recall having a higher level of self control in 9th grade. I find it hard to attribute such a shift just to adolescence instead of taking it as an indication of an underlying disorder. I am extremely impatient and cannot bear to take my time on anything. If I don't feel like I am continuously shifting tasks then I feel manic. This manifests itself even in my visualization. I see myself doing random hand movements or doing something very repetitively. Its like having to watch a GIF forever. I suspect I have a combination of ADHD and OCD. There seems to be an overlap of their symptoms. This really sucks. Any thoughts or tips? I would greatly appreciate it.

·
Registered
ESTP 7w6 so/sx
88 Posts
Tips? Consult a professional, they can help give you behavioral programs and/or medications to help with your focus. Thoughts? You sound like a really nice person.:smile-new:

·
Registered
4,880 Posts