Personality Cafe banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1,965 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am in my final year of high school and I am in the common dilemma on what career pathway to choose from. I know what my passion is and that is writing and music. But there are no real jobs in that. That is something I have to work on in the meanwhile while I do something else. The problem is that my interests vary a lot. I was thinking of majoring in Literature, History but I am also considering I.T and Science degrees. I enjoy everything but I need that one thing I know I can build a career on. I wish to really succeed in being a writer or some field in music but like I said there is no real stable career from that. Like you need to do that on your own and at your own pace. I want to know how to go about choosing a career pathway that will bring some kind of satisfaction and stability. What did you consider when choosing? I am not very interested in what career will bring me more dough but what will make me happy down the track. I would be more interested in research based careers. I am not the 9-5 daily job type. If it helps the subjects I am taking in my final year are: English, Further Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology, Psychology and the year before I did I.T: Applications.

So, how would you go about choosing? I think anything I choose should allow me to leave my footprint on this world and bring benefit for myself and others. I know it sounds egotistical but I am more interested in being part of creating something that will give birth to the word. That is why I considered I.T and Science namely the field bionics. I am scared of not being sure when I enter University. I don't want to play around by jumping around courses. How was it when you were in my position? What do you think are the Do's and the Don'ts?

Thank-you!

·
Registered
171 Posts
Do's
1. Select the degree which will put you in the most ideal workplace.