Personality Cafe banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After a long time reading and trying to understand the cognitive functions, I think I kinda get them now. I am leaning towards being a sensor because this is my "understanding" of how it works:

Dominant- your immediate reaction to any piece of information. Sure, depending on the information, you might get different reactions which is what makes things confusing. But I guess then you have to determine what you have a tendency to do/prioritize in your day to day life to narrow it down.

To note:

- I am EXTREMELY prone to self doubt. My initial reaction when I am to do a task I am not used to is to figure out whether I am able to do it in the first place.
- If I am unsure about how to do something and someone is relying on me to get it down (e.g. I used to work in retail pharmacy, and on my first day someone had an issue they needed me to solve. My initial reaction was to freak out internally and try and get the manager because I felt bad for the person that they were stuck with this inefficient 19 year old when they just wanted to go home)
- I get outraged by certain cases if I can empathize with the victim involved. E.g., if I hear about a shooting or someone dying in a terrible way, I feel awful. I also get angered by the perpetrator, but actually I end up getting more curious than anything about what causes people to harm others, outside of obvious reasons like revenge. I decided to minor in criminal justice because of this. (BTW, this is also why I used to struggle to see violence in films because I could imagine the terror and pain the victim is dealing with. over time, I started getting more desensitized to this as I forced myself to watch more and more)