Personality Cafe banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
600 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a college student and haven't seen my father in about a year. We do keep correspondence, but ever since my sophomore year of high school, relations have been strained between us. I'm not really sure of the cause, but the arguments started over religious beliefs.

Without getting too much into it, I was going to convert to his religion, which was the most I'd heard and been taught about growing up. However, before I made a life-changing decision like that, I decided to see what else was out there, and more specifically, what others had to say that was contrary to the religion, since I'd heard so much about and had questions of my own. Ultimately, in the face of the convincing evidence presented against it, I was compelled to decide not to join. I shared my findings with my father and asked a ton of questions, and ultimately, that debate did get heated and emotional.

Three and half years later, we're back at it again. The only difference is this time I've matured a bit and tried my best to be objective and keep any snarkiness condescension out of it. My dad sent the first email, to which I responded point-by-point, and which he replied only to a few points.

It seemed like he just got offended because he thought I put him in a 'box' based on a video I sent him, (the person in the video says there are two types of religious people, and my father understandably vehemently denied he was such, but I never said I agreed with EVERYTHING in the video; I used it to illustrate one particular point.) and decided to respond in turn, calling me a progressive/left wing that hates religion and God and that people in an evolution class would be "my people," and generally being snarky and condescending and mocking me for supposedly thinking I was soooo smart, smarter than God and everything.