Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
434 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi everyone. Male INTP here searching for some serious help. Here's the story: I am a student at a small liberal arts college where everyone knows everybody else. I consider myself a pretty mature, well-adjusted person. Growing up, and especially in high school as I got older, I struggled with a lot of the typical INTx problems you hear about around the boards. I think it was mostly just for lack of any real role models. I wanted to be like my friends and do the things they did but it was just not working out. I kinda messed myself up in the process of trying to, especially towards the end there, but now I'm back on track and better than ever. (It, however, was not easy. And it was definitely not a quick process. I'd say it took a solid 5 years to finally arrive at a place where I was actually "good" at being me. And it's because I went through that that I think I am now a bit more mature than the average guy my age.)

With that said though, I am a heavy, heavy duty INTP. As in like the industrial strength version. There is almost no possibility anyone familiar with personality theory could mistake me for anything other than an introverted Rational of some sort. (And if you did mistake me for an introverted Rational of some sort, wouldn't that then not be a mistake? Never realized that expression did not make literal sense. Maybe I used it wrong?) So even though I do feel I have very good balance and personal development beyond my natural INTP strengths and dispositions I really don't act on it more than I have to. I like living life as an INTP. It's by far the most rewarding, satisfying course I know. OKAY. Next part. (When I get nervous or insecure about something because I feel like I don't understand it I compensate with excessive detail and analysis. Sorry. I'm really losing it.)