Personality Cafe banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1,060 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm not going through this now, but I heard some stories read to me (I'm a Basic Writing tutor) that reminded me of this. I was just wondering if other ENFPs went through this multiple times. Without further ado, here it is:

It starts with a simple question: What am I going to do with my life, and what will that mean?

From this question, I start brainstorming ideas of jobs, events, issues--anything that could impact humanity, big or small. I could be a politician who changes politics as we know it; I could be a professor of English (my current track); I could make people more aware of why Africa's doing poorly; you get the idea. However, I come to the bone-chilling conclusion that none of it matters; I will die. Regardless of what I do, I will die and I will probably be forgotten.

This leads to another question: What does it all mean?

This, obviously, is the much harder question to answer. Philosophers can't answer this question. I start feeling angry. Why am I even existing if, statistically speaking, I will die and be forgotten by billions of people, and the people who do remember me will die shortly afterward? What will I leave? The simple answer is that I won't leave anything. Why am I here, living out my interim between life and death, essentially doing nothing? I'm born; I exist; I die. What a wonderful way to be!

This leads to yet another: What happens afterward?

Now, the short story is this: I'm atheist, so nothing happens. However, the long story is much more interesting and complex. What will death be like? Will I die peacefully? It must be weird to just not exist anymore--like a switch is just flipped, and then you're dead. It's truly the only black-and-white thing in this world.