Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
An INTP in college | motivation problems | need help!!!!

Hello everybody.
I am 17 years old, male, and it's my first year in college. I was wondering if there is any advice to how to manage studies, especially that i didn't do very well in high school because of me being a very lazy intp.
I am smart, yes. But I can't help but change my interests, i usually get bored easily and i suffer before exams because i can't focus on studying, and instead, i'm reading about penguins or string theory (even if i'm not finished yet with classical mecanics)
I always wanted to study physics (or at least mathematics), but i ended up with engineering owing to a series of cercumstances.
i have 2 years of studying sciences [preparatory classes] (maths : calculus, algebra, statistics etc.. - physics: classical mecanics, thermodynamics, electromagnetism, chimistry etc.. - and some programming courses) after that i get to choose a speciality- a branch of engeneering.
now don't get me wrong, i'm a little bit excited, but i know that this 'state of mind' is going to be over soon, and i find engineering to be very boring, i'm more into abstract and theoretical stuff, that's why i deceided to finish the first 2 years, and in the meantime i could think about the future.
I am asking for ways to stay motivated, or some methods to charge my motivation from time to time. I don't want to fuck it up, and i really mean it.
I need some insight

:sad:
~ thank you all

·
King of Seduction
ENTJ
7,284 Posts
Motivation would be monetary.
Engineering is a good career to start with.
Get your degree, get a job, be smart with your money so that you don't have to work very long.

I have a job with a topic I find interesting but at the end of the day it's a job and I'd rather be doing something else.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Motivation would be monetary.