Personality Cafe banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
3,941 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently have brought my 13 year old, almost 100% sure he is an INTP, son to a therapist for anxiety (really social anxiety). I knew he had issues at school talking to teachers, having to talk in class, but I witnessed first hand him having a full out anxiety attack (hyperventilating, crying, vomiting, shaking, etc.) over talking to a small group of very nice adults (3) about his scouting rank and realized it was worse than I thought. I know he would get sick (and cry when he was younger in class) any time he had to present a project.

It had been going on for years but I really had not heard enough from teachers or thought it was that bad. I tossed off some of it to just being an introvert (something I have no experience with personally-I was a "look at me" type kid). However, when he won't talk to a teacher one on one when he has a question or won't go to his scout masters to get an achievement signed off, it is not just being an introvert. It holds him back from things in life.

One of things my son says is that although he does not like getting full out anxiety attacks, he thinks that maybe he just doesn't want to do things. That may be the case for some things but I see that for some of that he is choosing to not do things or even try just because of the fear of social anxiety. Also, for things like scouts (that he says he likes and wants to stay in) or school, you HAVE to be able to talk to people in order to succeed. Especially with school, he is going to hit a point where his dad and I can no longer help him with homework because we are so far removed from school, we don't remember how to do it. I am not expecting him to become an extrovert or even want to change anything about who he is. I just want to make sure he does not fall behind the 8 ball because of social anxiety or have to deal with the physical symptoms of an anxiety attack.