Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For a while now I've been thinking about getting some practical education and getting into the film industry and I'm wondering if there are any people here that are in the film industry or any students in a film studies or practical program.

im basically curious about anything you'd have to say: stories, advice, your career, your personal life, east coast or west coast in both the USA and Canada (i live in Canada) or Europe, ambitions, your current or former school, interests... anything, oh and your favourite movie if you wish.

in about a month, ill be headed to Vancouver to check out some of the schools over there and im starting to get really excited.

Reactions: Kilgore Trout

·
Banned
1,987 Posts
Was going to go to film school, but eventually decided to get the education I needed myself, and do it myself. :happy:

I am majoring at a regular school for English and Art.

·
Registered
1,473 Posts
It's a great field. However, you need thick skin and know that friends may not be your friends if it means moving. Also if you find great friends that are not the type to stab that is better than finding gold.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Really? What sorta work do you do Jojo?

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
why do you say "you need thick skin"? Is that mostly the acting part? or even the camera and production part?

and can you explain what you mean by "know that friends may not be your friends if it means moving" please? im not quite sure i understand.

·
Banned
1,987 Posts
I think perhaps what he means is that the film industry is a very cut-throat business....if someone can get ahead by leaving you behind, out to dry, they probably will.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Film production student here :) The art department is my true love. <3

Some advice I've been given that I can pass on:
Don't burn bridges. This industry is small.