Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys!
So, I was wondering if any other INFPs are super competitive? I don't mean that I want to be the best in my field or win at games or anything, but in class I am extremely competitive. I'm a media student and we do quizzes all the time in class, and I always work super hard at them because I want to have the highest marks in the class. I have a really bad jealous streak as well and if anyone does end up doing better than me, I get really jealous and almost nasty. I get that these are not your typical INFP traits - we're supposed to be calm and kind and idealistic and whenever I see lists of INFP bad traits it's all "you feel emotions too deeply" or "you're too selfless" but I just have this unquenchable thirst to be as best as I can possibly be. It's not even about being better than anyone else: it's that I know I can be as good as them. i beat myself up for not being as good as other people. Getting a B on a paper is not good enough, it has to be an A. If I do get a B or god forbid, something lower, then I beat myself up and hate myself. I get that I am definitely an unhealthy INFP but I was wondering if anyone else had the same issue?

·
INFP 5w6
5,840 Posts
no :) I can be a little, for fun when playing games etc, but it is mostly just play and pretend. I guess I can feel a little competitive in other situations once in a while too, but my impression is that I am much less so than people in general, I have difficulties really getting the point of watching sports etc, it just isn't in me, that strong passion for beating the other person or team.

But I remember other threads about this, and though I remember it as though it was common to be noncompetitiver, there were some competitive infps there too, so you are not alone.

·
Registered
3,616 Posts
Sounds more like anxiety based on a powerful personal image, and not simple competitiveness.