Personality Cafe banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there,

I got a big problem. I am 24. I study math. I am from Germany. I am "afraid of" applying for a job.

This was the long story short.
I had some jobs in craftmanship. But I never ever applied for a job. It was always others who asked me if I wanted to help. And then I "helped" them for some months. I have lots of experience in craftmanship jobs. But I would like to apply for other jobs. But I don't know exactly what "other jobs" mean. I don't know what I want to do because I never tried anything else then craftmanship. I don't know why I hesitate so much. I guess it is because I don't like changes. And right now I don't have financial problems. Well I do, but they are not really urgent. I just don't care. I get off the point.

I want to apply for a job. But I have absolutely no clue which jobs I like and I don't. I never really had adult people I can talk to. My parents didn't care about me. So I have to learn it on my own. What if I apply for a job and I figure out I don't like it? Do I have to stay? How does all this stuff work?

Actually I study math, but only because I can and not because I like it. Generally I don't like lots of theory. I prefer practical work. I like to use my head AND my hands.

Kind regards
Procras

·
Registered
1,233 Posts
If you are a student, I'd consider talking to your school's career services before applying to any job. They often have the resources for a self-assessment to hone in on your skills & needs, which could facilitate your job exploration strategies. Your school will likely have plenty of volunteering and unpaid practice programs that could offer you insight into available fields and their corresponding job growth, daily responsibilities, and other significant factors that would best align with your interest and personality.