Personality Cafe banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
404 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone! :happy:

I could use some advice on which career I should pick.

What has not been right for me:
  • Pilot - I was probably influenced a lot by my father (who is now a retired pilot) and this was something I wanted to become from along as I can remember until I was around 18 (then I realized that I didn't want to be a military pilot since I don't want to bomb people for a living and commercial aviation seemed boring).
  • Military Officer - Here in Norway we have a 1 year mandatory military service for men. I thought that I'd do something more useful than the normal stuff and got into the Naval NCO school and became a quartermaster/sergeant. After 1 year of being a NCO student I started working at the recruit school for the navy. Really enjoyed the teaching and leadership aspect, but disliked how strict and unfriendly the work environment was
  • Engineer - I needed maths and physics at school in order to become a pilot, and through those subjects I met a lot of people who wanted to become engineers. This fall (2011) I started on Mechanical Engineering (since it seemed creative) at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology, but quit two months ago since I felt I didn't belong in that field (I prefer working on the big picture and not just a tiny part of a machine and I'm not a huge fan of mathematics or calculating stuff either)

Careers which I am now considering:
  • Architecture - I'm very creative and I love drawing and shaping things. It is also a profession where you work a lot in teams and good inter-personal skills are required. Urban Development (which you can specialize in) also looks really cool and meaningful (you can have a positive impact on society).
  • Industrial Design - Same reasons as architecture. Technology is something that interests me and it would be really cool to work in a field where new things happen all the time.