Personality Cafe banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
One thing we seem to have in common is our deep interest in literature. And another thing we have in common seems to be this itch we have to do some scribbling of our own.

What I've always noticed about myself is that I'm a slow reader. Never timed how slow, but comparatively I'm slower than my peers. It can be frustrating because I want to have read so many more books with the little time we're given on earth, but at the same time I enjoy the way I read books. I read the same way I eat - by savouring every delicious bite.

It's even a thing apparently:

Slow reading - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Anyway, one day I was sharing with my journalism lecturer about my tendency and he mentioned that good writers tend to read slow.

I'm not saying I'm a good writer, but I'm a writer. And I noticed I read and re-read sentences even if there were no profound value to the content. I found myself trying to understand what it is that made the writer compose his sentence one way over dozens of alternatives. That moment when feeling is created and the meaning flourishes and the magic happens - I want to know how it works. Then I thought, of course I'm slow at reading. I'm not just trying to read the writing, I'm trying to steal it.

It's only natural that a writer would attempt to soak up the style of their favourite authors, but I think it goes beyond that. Analysing people and their differences is what I enjoy most in life. I'm always trying to figure people out in real life and I do the same while reading. I'm always trying to either figure the character or the author out by looking at how they put words together. And reading and re-reading to understand the voice of someone makes me feel a deeper connection with that person - sometimes more than the story itself.

Or maybe I'm just a slow reader and I'm making excuses? :tongue:

Anyone else do the same thing?

·
Registered