Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, first real post besides introduction here. Anyway, as you can see, I am an ENTP. I had a question, though. I am really wondering about ENTPs and manipulation. I find myself, not with everyone, but with specific types of people, manipulating them without even trying. If I figure out that someone is just a nasty or toxic person, but I need to slowly get rid of them, or learn something from them, or if the external climate isn't right for conflict, I manipulate them to my will instead. Not in a bad way, necessarily, but, it is manipulation, nonetheless.

Is this a common ENTP characteristic? Sorry if this has been done before, but I am new to the deeper world of personality typing.

·
Registered
8,660 Posts
Considering I've been able to buy alcohol and get into bars since I was 16 (I live in the US so 21 drinking age) without a fake ID, I'd say yes. I could make up the craziest BS reasons for not having and ID or find ways to sneak in. It was pretty crazy. Now that I'm 24, the game has been over a while.

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Considering I've been able to buy alcohol and get into bars since I was 16 (I live in the US so 21 drinking age) without a fake ID, I'd say yes. I could make up the craziest BS reasons for not having and ID or find ways to sneak in. It was pretty crazy. Now that I'm 24, the game has been over a while.
I totally get you there! The weird thing for me is this, though: I have an amazing relationship with the truth that I cannot explain. I can't stand lying in my personal life, though I can and will do it for safety's sake. That includes mental/emotional safety as well. Hence the aforementioned manipulation of nasty/toxic people.

Thanks for the response- glad to know I am not alone here!

·
Registered
27 Posts