Personality Cafe banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
670 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I read this article a while back and gave it a try recently;

https://www.newscientist.com/article/2090717-do-you-get-your-best-work-done-in-coffee-shops-heres-why/

I'm in my first year of University and i've always preferred the quiet of my study area at home.
It's where I have all my textbooks and associated topic materials which I regularly refer to.
But lately i've found my mind wandering to other distractions despite having a 'focused system' around me.

So I gave this coffee shop concept a try.
At first I felt self-concious about taking up a spot for an hour or more.
And yes I did get some 'looks' from the staff! As it happens, I ordered a chai latte and a muffin (apple & cinnamon - yum!)
The coffee shop didn't have wi-fi, but the shopping mall itself does although it is speed limited (quite slow), but wi-fi wasn't really necessary for my test-run.

It took me a while to concentrate as it really was a new experience for me - I kept looking around to check out the situational awareness thing ...
(This ENTP's Ne was on overdrive!)
Anyways once I got started on my essay, amazingly I was able to concentrate and produce some appropriate content!

Somehow the ambiant noise and activity provided a sense of ..... attachment? I don't know how to describe it, but it just seemed natural to be exposed to the external chaos happening in the vicinity?
I knew suff was going on around me, but rather than being a bother, it was more comforting than anything else!
I'm a single person and basically live alone, so perhaps having people around gave me a sense of affinity along with a feeling of inclusion?

However I was really surprised to discover that the concept of coffee shop study seemed to be effective!