Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
6,993 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Are you self taught in any aspect of knowledge or your life?

I kind of taught myself in a way on how to do small/big things to make people realize how they should think beyond their self created boxes.

·
Registered
1,248 Posts
I taught myself how to whistle. :proud:

Well aside from things like what I just typed above, I suppose I taught myself to be self reflective. I didn't really learn it from anyone, or even have a role model to really observe doing it while I was growing up. I would imagine this is a fairly common self-taught skill though.

·
Registered
102 Posts
I prefer self teaching myself on just about anything, because I can do it at entirely my own pace and with no pressure (because I'm very lazy). Whenever someone else teaches me, it suddenly turns into a job with deadlines and testing and I hate it. Things like guitar and music, or reading up on a certain subject I like, I try to self teach as much as possible.

For things like personality, I hate being told how to think a certain way from an external source, so I really have to come at it on my own to ever truly adopt it. I guess it's pretty stubborn but hey.

·
Banned
1,794 Posts
I taught myself how to draw/paint traditionally as well as digitally, i teach my self the odd song here and there on piano and ukulele and I make my own stuff up. I read a lot and I love learning new things. I spend a lot of time just gernerally teaching myself about everything and anything.

·
Registered
231 Posts
I taught myself how to play piano. When I was in second grade, the music teacher at school was throwing away all kinds of old songbooks. So I took a bunch of them home, sat down in front of the old $50 Kimball Upright church piano my mom had just bought, and started to teach myself how to play.