Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
3,920 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How would you go about dating someone who was raped in the past?

There's this girl I've been currently dating for three months and it's going really well so far. At the early part of dating she mention she was raped in the past. I've never had an experience dating someone who was raped. I know when comes to having sex and intimacy it will take a while. She recently mention she's not ready to have sex yet because of her experience. I'm happy to wait and to be patient with her.

·
Registered
ISFJ
5,197 Posts
Hmm. I'd actually ask her if she got tested for stuff/seen a gynecologist since it happenned. I know it wouldn't be the most sensitive thing to do, but concern for her health and safety and yours would go above that i think. Who knows what her rapist might have had.

·
Registered
3,360 Posts
I have no idea and zero experience, but I don't think there is any rule book or template to follow. There are simply way too many variables to predict the future, and she is certainly more worried about it than you are. That is part of the damage: being damaged and learning to move on and be successful again.

I would anticipate the best approach is to be open, listen often and carefully, and to not try to "fix" problems that she doesn't ask you to fix. Don't over think it, just be good, solid, and open. The rest will reveal itself in time.

It might be useful to study self help for rape-victim partners, there is surely some better resource out there to learn from. Not to help her, but to help yourself.

·
Registered
INFP 4w5 6w7 9w1 so/sp
3,418 Posts
You've answered your own question. You're basically doing everything you need to by simply being patient and understanding of her boundaries.