Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am studying for a graduate exam and hence been absorbing all sorts of words I would never have had the energy to add to my lexicon.

Incidentally, I was fortuitous enough to meet a real live INTP female in person, and before she could size me up, she began to assault me with advanced words.

Do you have an advanced vocabulary?
Where did you gain your lexicon?
Are you fluent with them in speech or restricted to writing?

For me, I often will lose an advanced word in the heat of conversation, but surprisingly if I am a little drunk or ranting about something, I have a dangerous flow.

·
Banned
4,210 Posts
I was fortuitous enough to meet a real live INTP female in person
Lucky bastard.

I'd say it's pretty good.
Nowhere specifically. I just listen for words I'm unfamiliar with and look them up later. I also will occasionally look through a thesaurus when I'm trying to find a specific word...and in my searching, I often find some good ones.
Well, I definitely use more advanced vocabulary in my common speech, but I tend to have a higher concentration of them in writing.

·
Registered
3,878 Posts
I sometimes read the dictionary and encyclopedia for fun but when I speak or write, I will use a simpler word over an advanced word, to increase the clarity and precision of what I want to convey.

·
Registered
4 Posts
For me, I often will lose an advanced word in the heat of conversation, but surprisingly if I am a little drunk or ranting about something, I have a dangerous flow.
I know exactly what you mean. I genuinely surprise myself sometimes with my ~dangerous flow.

Listening, for sure. It seems like I store everything I hear, which sometimes freaks people out, but I find it helpful, mostly.
Reading, which consisted of national geographic, almost exclusively for a while, until I became interested in books.