Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Disclaimer: I'm new to the MBTI personality concept.

I'll be the first to admit my love life hasn't been ideal. But being an 18 year old girl, one would think I would find at least a little excitement in flirting with new guys, right?

(Note: I'm not attracted to girls, so that's not the problem.)

At school and in town, guys often start flirting with me and try to get me to meet up or get my number. I play along usually, but I really don't get any satisfaction out of it. The practical me is always nagging in the back of my mind that I don't know this person and should be careful. (Having overprotective parents doesn't help.)

Even with guys I've been in relationships with, compliments or flirty conversations never give me the butterflies. I see through everything. Sometimes they're sincere, but most of the time they're just trying to flatter me. I get annoyed by that.

The one guy who has ever really got me excited lives five states away. We met through a mutual friend on Facebook. Anyway, what gets me going about him is the fact that he's incredibly intelligent without being arrogant or egotistical. He doesn't give me unfounded compliments and doesn't fish for them from me. I find that to be a virtue. (I'm pretty certain he is an INTP as well.)

I get frustrated and restless with my friends because they are not nearly as open-minded to new ideas or curious about the world as I am. I NEED mental stimulation. I've turned to psychoanalyzing them to keep myself from being totally bored when I'm with them. Occasionally I'll attempt to bring something up that could be a decent conversation. (What do you think about....? Have you ever wondered...? etc.) All I get is a blank stare, a shrug, or something mumbled that's indecipherable.

Back on track.

Is being almost apathetic to these kinds of things an INTP trait, or am I just destined to be an old maid?