Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know some of you out there... somewhere... are artists. And judging by the previous art threads I've seen, a lot of you are really, really good. So tell me, how do YOU find inspiration? I'm in a bit of a rut (have been for awhile) trying to find good ideas and I'm becoming afraid I'm losing my creativity. :sad:

Any ideas are welcome!

·
Registered
369 Posts
I'm not really an artist, but I used to be into video game level design (ok so I was shit at that too but not the point) and what I found really helpful was just seeing new places. It doesn't have to be exciting exotic locales. Just... go to some places in your area you've never been. City-streets in more run-down neighborhoods, industrial areas, outer-city parks, quiet suburbs, just places outside of your daily routine, yet close to you. I find it eye-opening and inspiring just how much life goes on outside of our daily routines.

·
黐線 ~Chiseen~
5,241 Posts
Draw for the sake of fun, hobby and passion.

Do not draw for the sake of a job or a chore... you can get extremely burned out without an outlet.

Assuming you always carry a doodle pad, take 5 min break at random intervals and just sketch / doodle something. your photogenic memory will tie into how that sketch / doodle later in the evening when you get back to it. no additional significance if you wait any longer. you'll just forget due to the nature of selective short term memory.

that's all i have.

·
Registered
122 Posts