Personality Cafe banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I'm Nga. I'm from Viet Nam. I'm 26 years old. I graduated from Singapore Management University, majoring in psychology last year. I have taught Maths in English as an extracurricular activity in Viet Nam since last September. I love working with children so I do enjoy teaching. This month I started studying full-time a second bachelor degree to become an English teacher so it's gonna be for 4 more years. I used to be very passionate about psychology however there's no job market for psychology in Viet Nam. Giving up on psychology is one of the hardest thing I've ever done. However, I still want to pursue a master degree of science in psychology (specialized in children and teenage clinical psychology) even though I might never apply it. I intend to apply for that course next year. I wonder if it's worth it. Studying for one bachelor degree and one master degree simultaneously in addition to teaching seems very strenuous. But I hope that one day I can work as a teacher and a counselor at the same time.

What do you think?

·
Banned
70 Posts
Keep working to become an English teacher, then you can make a lot of cash to get out of that shit hole you call Vietnam (I'm Vietnamese too). You enjoy teaching, and you love money even more, so teaching English would be perfect. When you can afford to leave your country, you can start on your psychology projects.

Don't forget to teach them how to pronounce words properly, they really suck at English.

Good luck!

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you but I want to settle down in Viet Nam. I'm tired of living overseas. Actually I got depressed the whole time I was in Singapore. I don't care about making a lot of cash. I just want to make ends meet and follow my dreams.
My pronunciation is quite good so I think I can help kids pronounce correctly.

·
Registered
INFP 648 sx/sp
2,937 Posts