Personality Cafe banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, members of PerC. I'm currently a student in college and have declared a major, but I'm looking for a little advice on what career would be a good fit for me. I am very sensitive, non-confrontational, and bad under pressure. Quiet environments are best for my sanity. I've recently decided that work environment is probably more important for my happiness than the job itself. This is just speculation, though. I would like to have a lot of autonomy in my job and be trusted to do it well without much supervision. I am an INFJ and also a highly sensitive person, if that gives you a better picture.

Currently, I am studying computer science in college. I enjoy it so far and can see myself programming for a career, but I'm worried about having to deal with the stress of the business world. The idea of rushed deadlines and demanding bosses scares me. I'm someone who needs to work at her own pace. I also have trouble not becoming incredibly emotionally invested in my job, even if it's something as objective as computer programming. Will I be okay?

Another option I see for myself is counseling. I feel a strong pull toward helping people with emotional problems, so I think I'd get a greater sense of personal satisfaction from counseling. However, the low salary worries me, I don't want to have to go to school for another two years, and I worry that the counseling itself would be too emotionally taxing for me.

Can anyone offer their opinions and/or experiences? I feel like I'm getting closer, but I still have worries.

·
Registered
134 Posts