Personality Cafe banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
INFJ
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I’m looking for some advice on career options and possibly life generally. I’m a male ISFJ in my mid-20s, living in South West England.

I currently work as a Software Developer. I feel like this is a badly suited career option for me, because I am unable to embrace my feelings and I am overworking my tertiary function of thinking. I’ve done well to get as far as I have, but I don’t think I can progress much further (become a Senior Developer) due to the extra thinking and technical knowledge required.

I also think this job is not very good for my physical and mental health. I sometimes get anxiety and low mood, but I think this can sometimes be blamed due to the job being very logical and not allowing me to show my caring side. I feel drained coming home each day, and I don’t have much motivation to progress as a Software Developer.

I think I just need a more practical job, but I’m not sure what. I like the sound of being a dentist, nurse, counselor or therapist but these jobs require a degree which I don’t have. I don’t mind studying or getting work experience, but 3 years full time would be a bit too much. Working with animals or in a care home would be nice, but these jobs pay a bit less than what I would be hoping for (around £25k and above would be ideal, although I could accept less to begin with).

Therefore, does anyone have any other suggestions on career options please? I think a job with some sort of skill and a bit of human interaction is required. I can be shy around people who I don’t know, but I am normally good at remembering facts about people.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Hello!