Personality Cafe banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
197 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dear "multi-experts", "serial experts" and "scanners",

your fellow ENFP is about to make an important life decision and would appreciate your advice, experience and perhaps even warnings regarding the plan I envisage.

I am a recent graduate and my job search has been extremely tough - I think it's usual these years! But at last, I got a very good offer in a field (Advertising/Communications/Design) that is quite unrelated to my studies (Social sciences/Economics), but which I consider one of my personal hobbies since I was a kid. In fact, the position I got is even senior than entry-level! I am quite confident that I can progress with high drive and motivation in this field, but I at the same time I am sure that I will not feel as fulfilled as I would be if I pursued something directly related to my field.

Now, I wouldn't find it right to quit this job as soon as I get the chance to switch to the field that I prefer and studied for, so I want to start with my heart set on a plan. While I have multiple interests as most ENFP, I don't like to leave things unfinished. For this reason, the plan would be something like becoming really good at this "hobby-sector", perhaps reaching senior management level in 5-6 years, and then finding a way to switch to my actual "professional-path".

This "hobby-sector" is also very promising money-wise, and while I am not your typical money-motivated person, I am in dire financial need. I need to repay tuition fees, loans, money borrowed from parents and much more. So it would be good to get rid of all that as soon as possible! At present, that is one of my crucial arguments in favor.