Personality Cafe banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am an INFP and I'm 37 years old. I am an audit manager. For the most part of my career in the corporate world, I have felt like a misfit who is faking it to making it. I have never enjoyed working in the corporate environment. I try to be ambitious but I last about three months when i see the emptyness of it all.

I have known for the last ten years I am totally not suited to audit. I hate details and audit and the whole ethos of corporate life. Being a manager and managing/counselling others got me through it. (though i hated my actual audit tasks) Now I am in a new role with no staff to manage and its killing me. I can spend the whole week at work and do nothing but pretend to look busy because I can't face my work. I find it totally useless (i.e., it doesn't help anyone). I am in a great company, with a great boss and great colleagues in a great location...all perfect on paper but I am dying inside!

I am so desperate to change field into something more fulfilling. (My dream is to be a seminary professor or career counselloror even preacher), but I was brought up to be 'responsible' and provide for my family. I am now trapped by all my trappings.

I have a big salary (around $150k) right now, a beautiful (mortgaged) house with a big garden my wife spends her time lovingly tending to and two kids in nice schools. I am terrible with saving money, so only have a paltry amount and can barely make ends meet now despite the salary. All my dream jobs pay one third of that.

My wife and children are my joy in life, so at least I have a spark of happiness every day when i go home!
I am at odds with providing materially for my family and having career fulfilment. I will always put my family first though, but it just getting harder and harder at work as a result and i spend extended periods being depressed about work.