Personality Cafe banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
1,869 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
when courting or just initializing a relationship with someone deemed possibly worthy, I can be really ...... suspicious, observing and careful.... which is the opposite of me normally. Or rather, the opposite of the PERCEIVED me. Nevertheless, confronted with the object of possible desire my behaviour becomes weird and I feel insecure and incompetent (or as a child). Which I dont like. So I definitely often lose my "cool".... ;-) - quoted from another ENTP thread.
There is an ENTP. He is a postdoc student, and I am a postbacc student in the same program. Around almost everyone else, this ENTP is extremely talkative, and he seems to notice me as soon as i walk into a crowded room of a LOT of people (im talking hundreds). He seems to constantly be observing me through the corner of his eyes while being in my near vicinity, though he wont approach me when in a group. It's okay though because when I like someone, I go through the same thing as described in the quote above. And thus, we are both careful around each other and observing, though there is a strong connection that is there.

So what is next? I don't know what to expect so maybe you guys can clue me in on this? And when you are in this "observing/suspicious/figuring out" phase, what a) rules out the prospects and b) what encourages you to take the next step?. i'm not necessarily looking for a relationship here. I would be okay starting off as a friendship and seeing how things go. Is there anything i could do, except "being myself," that can make him or even both of us get past this "guarded/suspicious/observing" phase?

·
Registered
83 Posts