Personality Cafe banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I only recently started reading Into the Wild by John Krakauer and I, in the beginning, took a general dislike of the book. It was just a biography to me, so it didn't seem very special, but now after reading ahead some of my classmates I find myself interested as to what personality type he was.

I've read articles that have said that he's an INTJ. I'm new to all of this, and so I won't argue by saying that he's not that, but my teacher pointed out something interesting to me today.

She said that Chris was a very hands-on person, as shown by how he impulsively took off, and love nature. Which was one of the reasons why he took off into the wild, because he found it mesmerizing. His fascination by all the authors, such as Jack London, made his eagerness even more stronger than before.

To my extended belief, Chris sounds like a sensor because he's a little impulsive, he enjoys nature. I have to say, it gets conflicting by how smart he is, and how dreamy and idealistic he gets. If by any chance he's an intuitive, he would have to at least be a perceiver. Just by how impulsive he is, and how sometimes when he changed course (as when he had to leave his car), instead of reacting badly, he enjoyed the spontaneity.

I won't even discuss if he's a Thinker or not. To me he seems like he could be both, but then again I'm inexperienced in typing people.
I haven't seen the movie, just the trailer, and to be honest Emile Hirsch gives Chris a very sensitive look to him, which won't help in typing him. I don't suggest not looking at the movie, but because I want an accurate type for him, the book seems a little more reliable.

Does anyone else have any other guesses?

·
Registered
134 Posts