1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1,339 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My main issue comes down to music.
1. No confidence about my playing abilities
2. Anxiety when practicing, especially when people are around
3. Issues it causes when it comes to my musician boyfriend.

So, I started playing guitar at age 13. I progressed relatively quickly, and enjoyed it a lot. However, I never learned a song the whole way through. I'd mess up each time I'd play and I started to feel like I was incompetent. I always played quietly in my room because I abhorred the fact that my parents could possibly hear me playing the same thing again and again and still mess up.

Then in high school I started doing double bass as well. The fact that it was a new instrument allowed me the freedom of messing up because, hey, it was a new instrument. Now I am taking lessons in college and I'm starting to feel the oppression of perfectionism again. Like, I constantly compare myself to others during practice. I wonder how easy/hard it is for other people, and whether I am going at a ridiculously slow pace, and whether I'm just simply incompetent. I hate the fact that people can hear me practicing outside the room, especially since it's obviously located at the school of music at my college.
(My father has no idea I'm taking lessons because he hates the fact that I play a musical instrument. He thinks it's distracting and destructive. My parents both always told me I wasn't talented to go into music, despite my insistence that I never planned on it anyway).