Personality Cafe banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,361 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Kathy Sierra: Brain Death by Dull Cubicle

I've actually been reading a lot lately about Elizabeth Gould's work, since i recently started a job* that returned me to the cubicle world after some time away from it. My view is that most firms, in the interest of expediency, don't realize what they're losing in stifling creativity by cramming people into dull settings.

I'm not really good at decorating my cubicle and stuff but i'm doing what i can to have something new to look at besides the computer screen.

---
*Other than the setting, it's a great job.

·
Registered
3,933 Posts
And I always scoffed at co-workers who decorated their offices with pictures of their golden retrievers.

If pictures are good, reality is better. Unleash a violent unneutered doberman into the office. That would surely stimulate their senses.

·
Registered
2,387 Posts
The first few months after getting my first degree I found myself in my own office at work. Everyday I kept worrying I was growing stupider and more dull. Now I'm back in school, fleeing the "real world" and exploring reality.

·
mafia mod
13,335 Posts
I dont think I left any wall uncovered. There was never a gray spot open. Animal and travel photos, jokes, and plants. And it was changed every couple of weeks are so.

·
mafia mod
13,335 Posts
PS. All four of us in the our box did this. We also played jokes, had parties and games. And, no surprise, we were the most productive group in our section.

·
Registered
424 Posts
PS. All four of us in the our box did this. We also played jokes, had parties and games. And, no surprise, we were the most productive group in our section.
YES. There's been recent research that supports this claim. "Daydreaming" and "doodling" help aid in attention and productivity.