Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
2,809 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone have a certain attraction to death. Not in the emo/gothic sense, nor the desire to kill oneself. What I am talking about is the intense emotion that it causes. The depth. How it's final and blunt. An appreciation for it cus it triggers existential thoughts...

i hope I am not the only or you guys think I am a freak. But songs, shows, books, movies about death attracts me.

·
Registered
784 Posts
Anyone have a certain attraction to death. Not in the emo/gothic sense, nor the desire to kill oneself. What I am talking about is the intense emotion that it causes. The depth. How it's final and blunt. An appreciation for it cus it triggers existential thoughts...

i hope I am not the only or you guys think I am a freak. But songs, shows, books, movies about death attracts me.
I'm don't think I'm attracted to death, but it's something I have a lot of experience with. I spend a lot of time with elderly people, especially ones who don't have family to visit them. And, as with all people, they eventually move on from this world. There's a concept or whisper of an idea, I often find in death, and it's both painful and fascinating. I'll share it with you.

To me, there's something intensely selfish that occurs when another dies around you. Every time. It's annoying, because I always tell myself... be in the moment, don't be selfish. But, hours go by as you sit there in the hospital, and it's hard to sit still. Watching someone you love disappear. It's a very real experience.

I wrote a little something, awhile back. One Last Breath | David L. Bowman

·
Registered
4,041 Posts
It's hard for me to say, @arwen7.

I've been wrapped up in the existential consideration of "to be or not to be" since 7th grade throughout much of my life.

...To die, to sleep,
To sleep, perchance to Dream; aye, there's the rub,
for in that sleep of death, what dreams may come,