Personality Cafe banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Wondering if anyone has recommendations for how to design my office layout for the ultimate in INTP style and productivity. I have 8'x15' to work with. Door on the edge of the 15' wall. I am an accountant but not the stereotypical type in duties. Currently have an L-shape desk configuration, 4 2-drawer and 1 4 drawer file cabinets dotted around the perimeter, and 4 file cabinets out in the hall. The hall is getting smaller and my office is expanding from 8'x9' to accomodate bringing the file cabinets in.

U-shape? Or keep the L-shape? Or One continuous workspace on a single wall? How many pictures/posters/decor do you have? Any family pics up (I never did before kids but everyone wants to see their pics so I have one of each up)? File cabinets behind me (out of sight-out of mind) or on an opposite wall??

Major job functions include:
- shuffling a ton of paper around and, in turn, filing them while rarely needing to refer to the filed originals,
- 8' cubicle wall for my office only but I am kind of out in the middle of the room and there is at least 3' above it to the ceiling.
- a line of sight distraction issue if my primary workspace is too close to my door (the person's whose office I can see into when near my door plays with his shoes constantly under his desk which has adjusted how I use my current space),
- 2 large computer monitors,
- dislike having back to those who walk in,
- doing lengthy conference calls with outsiders on a regular basis,
- doing meetings at my office with off-site coworkers 12-15 times a year (normally in spurts),
-overhead lighting is bad no matter what so I already have a lamp,
- spending a solid 3.5 straight months tied down in deep detail thought for stuff that just must be done perfectly and periodic shorter times the rest of the year,