Personality Cafe banner

Did you attend your high school graduation?

• Yes

Votes: 16 48.5%
  • No

Votes: 17 51.5%
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Boring and long. A lot of people got emotional at the end. I didn't like anyone at my school so i was just glad it was over, not sad haha.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
451 Posts
My high-schools graduating class was nearly 800 people. I've really had no intention to buy a robe, wake up early to go to a rehearsal, wake up at all the day of the event, and wait for a couple of hours sitting with people I don't know for a slip of paper that isn't even a diploma.

·
Registered
6,772 Posts
The school called a month or so after graduation wanting to know if I picking up my diploma was too much of a bother. They were a bit pissy about it. I sent my kid brother down on his bike to grab it for me. It came in handy six months later when I argued that as a high school graduate I should be allowed to sit out 'What's a noun?' type classes in reform school and read a book instead. The staff didn't believe me until I produced the physical diploma. They hung it prominently in the window of the control cage as a means to incentivize the other kids to learn while I went off to a quiet corner to enjoy my perk.

·
Registered
8,254 Posts
I did. But I did not actively attend the rehearsal. I did not and still do not see the point of it. If anything, schools should make such things optional. I'm sure a majority of people would still go if not to see themselves on stage / hear their name being called. You know, just for the pride and vanity of it.

As if completing hell in sterile rooms with an average of thousands of people over the course of 12-13 years time is something to cheer about. I might cheer when the curriculum is actually improved for all types of students and their future occupations, actually pay teachers what they deserve, stop cutting tenure, and get rid of 'no child left behind'.

·
Registered