Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
ISFP (ESI-Se)
735 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know for me, when somebody does something that hurts me or challenges my morals I get very upset and have a hard time letting it go.

I'm an advocate for pro-choice and vegetarianism, and when someone starts debating and putting down my ideas(if they have good reason, I accept their position, but once they start attacking or using illogical arguments just to bash my opinion) I start getting mad, and afterwards I have a hard time forgiving them. It almost changes my perception of them.

What about you guys? Do you experience this? What can you do to forgive and forget?
If not, what DO you experience when facing similar situations?

·
Registered
1,085 Posts
Yeah, I definitely have trouble with this. Of course, it depends on the individual situation... but I do have trouble letting go of things. I'd say this is because, quite often, my imagination plays the scenario/words/images/whatever over and over and over in my head, each time rekindling whatever negative feelings I have.

I'm not sure what exactly to do to help this issue. Sometimes the importance and/or hurt naturally fade(s) over time, such that I just genuinely am not bothered anymore, but when that doesn't happen... well, I've been mostly unsuccessful at trying to get over things on purpose. I've tried, I really have... I guess I just haven't found the right method or I suck at it or something. Having a really sharp memory for those sorts of things doesn't make it easy.

·
Registered
7,676 Posts