Personality Cafe banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
241 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Apparently I was told by one of my bosses today that I don't "interview well," as in job interviews (I still got hired for the position, as I had been working a different position at the same place for a few years and they know my work quality). I guess my discomfort shows in my body/facial language more than I expect it does, as I'm a bit reserved with people in professional settings and whom I don't know well personally. I thought my responses to the questions were quite thoughtful, detailed, and original... but I suppose I tend to pause/reflect when I speak and say "umm..." as I think of the best reply possible that I can give. I am not very good at spontaneous, in-the-moment responses and need a bit of space to gather my thoughts (I hate when I can't verbalize my ideas without misrepresenting them, so I'm always trying to find the "right words" to express my ideas as closely to as they appear in my head).

Also, I am quite young for the position (20 and female) and working in a leadership role with large groups of children and staff who I am in charge of... and another comment made to me today is that I need to work on my "leadership skills" and presenting myself as a confident, "in-command," and assertive person to the parents (since I will be responsible for their kids). I think this is partially due to the fact that I am young, female, and people often judge based on appearance and age... so I have to work extra hard at appearing assertive, mature, and in control. I am very capable and qualified for my job... I just need to learn to look and act the part. I think a lot of more introverted types must get overlooked for positions they would do very well at, just because others may be better at presenting themselves in these interview-type situations.