Personality Cafe banner

Well?

1 - 20 of 82 Posts

·
Registered
404 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I listen to music all the time when I am studying. But many people I know don't like it at all. What about you?

·
Registered
381 Posts
I don't listen to music while I study because it distracts me. Mainly because whatever music I tend to listen is too inspiring for a boring assignment or the like. It'll just make me think about interesting things and make me daydream. Which is probably not something I should be doing while studying. :(

·
Registered
1,208 Posts
I listen to music and it affects my abilities positively. If I study in silence, my mind wonders on hundred places simultaneously, if I listen to something, it concentrates only on music, so it's actually helping. But it should not be new music, because then I would scan it all the times; if I know it, I know what will happen next and thus don't think about it. Also, easy listening over something really crazy.

·
Ace of Spades
7w6 4w3 1w9 sp/so; Ni/Ne/Te-dom
3,253 Posts
Music without vocals ftw!

·
Registered
1,970 Posts
I always have two stages in my studying. The first is where I'll be reading through textbooks and notes figuring out the methods, ideas, etc..., and the second is where I actually begin applying what I figured out to solve problems, write papers, or do things.

In stage one, I need it really quiet so I can focus all of my attention on the text, to teach myself, and in stage two, I need some music to keep me motivated while cranking out the problems, since I now know what to do, just need to do it.

·
Registered
287 Posts
I agree with @Spades . Something without vocals is the way to go. I also find it helps me at work too. I can focus on production and blank out the world around me.

·
Registered
3,783 Posts
Yes - it helps me by focusing me and kind of tethering my mind for a bit so it can stay still long enough to take in the information.