Personality Cafe banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
2,336 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm a new graduate, and I have submitted tons of applications for jobs through online applications, but I don't think anyone ever looks at them. Has anyone ever got an interview through online applications?

I have a feeling that the most likely way I'm going to get a job is by approaching people at LinkedIn and try to get to know them. Has anyone ever landed a job as a new graduate by networking with peple you didn't already know through school/professors/recommendations?

Lol I'm an INFP, by the way. I don't think networking is impossible, but it just doesn't come naturally to me.

·
Registered
INTJ 5w4 Sx/Sp
2,387 Posts
No, try calling and presenting yourself instead.

·
Banned
7,289 Posts
So I'm a new graduate, and I have submitted tons of applications for jobs through online applications, but I don't think anyone ever looks at them. Has anyone ever got an interview through online applications?

I have a feeling that the most likely way I'm going to get a job is by approaching people at LinkedIn and try to get to know them. Has anyone ever landed a job as a new graduate by networking with peple you didn't already know through school/professors/recommendations?

Lol I'm an INFP, by the way. I don't think networking is impossible, but it just doesn't come naturally to me.
When I was job hunting, I used online postings like indeed.com to find jobs.

But once I found a place hiring, I sent them a formal cover letter with resume. Because I did not like calling these places, that's all I did. I also hooked up with recruiting companies that would present me to employers.

Eventually, one of the recruiting company jobs landed me a position.

Basically, if the recruiting companies like your resume, they will give you a call, and bring you in for an interview. If they like you, you go on their list of acceptable people they can present to companies.