Personality Cafe banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,385 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi!
I'm new to socionics, so sorry if something seems to be extremely stupid.

I found this link:
Socionics - the16types.info - Type and subtype descriptions by Meged and Ovch

It says that an ESTj (Te-Si-Ne-Fi) is divided in ESTj Si and ESTj Te. Wouldn't the sub category with Si result in ISTp? (that is MBTI ISTJ, right? Anaways, Si-Te-Fi-Ne.)

I just can't make any sense out of this, would be great with some help!

Reactions: selena87

·
Registered
79 Posts
It says that an ESTj (Te-Si-Ne-Fi) is divided in ESTj Si and ESTj Te. Wouldn't the sub category with Si result in ISTp?
No, because ESTj and ISTp do not differ in their dominant function alone. Every sociotype has a distinct placement of all 8 cognitive functions, each of which fulfill a certain role. This is much stricter in Socionics than in MBTI. So an ESTj-Si is just a little more Si-heavy, and may be mistaken as an ISTp by an untrained observer or even themselves, but otherwise has their functions arranged just like an ESTj-Te, not an ISTp.

(that is MBTI ISTJ, right? Anaways, Si-Te-Fi-Ne.)
Yes, ISTp equals ISTJ.

·
Registered
1,385 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
No, because ESTj and ISTp do not differ in their dominant function alone. Every sociotype has a distinct placement of all 8 cognitive functions, each of which fulfill a certain role. This is much stricter in Socionics than in MBTI. So an ESTj-Si is just a little more Si-heavy, and may be mistaken as an ISTp by an untrained observer or even themselves, but otherwise has their functions arranged just like an ESTj-Te, not an ISTp.
I see, thanks! So an ESTj-Si has Si stronger than Te? Or is it just stronger than usual?

·
Registered
SLI, ISTJ, 1w9, 164
2,087 Posts