Personality Cafe banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
[DISCLAIMER: Yes, I know that I already posted this in the "What's my Type?" section, but I felt that this was a more appropriate section and I do not know how to delete my initial thread. Oops]

I'm not here for someone to guess my type. Rather, I want to hear some feedback from people who have confidently and knowledgeably decided a type for themselves.

I'm new to personality types; the first time I ever even took a MBTI test was about 3-4 months ago. When I first took it I scored as an INTP, which caused a huge "WTF" moment because I do NOT identify with INTP (for the most part - to be honest I think I can relate to all of the types a little bit). So I took a few different tests (pretty much all of the free ones I was able to find on Google) and I was almost consistently receiving INTP (sometimes INTJ). After that, I pretty much gave up on using these online tests as a tool in deciphering what my type could be. I started reading more thoroughly about the descriptions of types and their corresponding functions... but like I mentioned previously, I felt that I could relate to all of the types in some way. (Has anyone else ever felt this way?) I would think that this is a relatively normal thing to feel... we ALL use all of the cognitive functions, just in different levels. And it is no secret that expectations can influence experience.

So how the fuck am I supposed to determine what my type is?

I began turning to forums and discussion boards like these. Reading and listening to other people's experiences concerning their types was a HUGE help in deciding mine (or at least giving me some direction). INFJ is the type I can identify with the most, ESPECIALLY the Ni and Fe functions. I was also able to relate to so many INFJ's experiences. So I say, tentatively, that I am an INFJ.