Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Banned
1,775 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, so I'm your classic ENFJ and test out as ENFJ over and over. I teach for a living and have worked for non-profits. I listen and empathize. I'm the one who does the lion's share of cleaning in my house, etc.

But I have a problem. I grew up in an emotionally abusive home and am recovering from Type II Trauma, the more pervasive form of PTSD. As a child, I perceived emotional attacks as life-threatening. Those life threats got recorded in the trauma center of my brain, the amygdala. Now when I'm in similar situations, the amygdala, which houses the flight, fight, or freeze response, kicks in. Hormones kick in and I freeze, flee, or fight.

Anyway, I have this other problem in that I have trouble recognizing Takers. I just think that everyone is nice and good. And when someone has a nice demeanor and does something altruistic for a living I assume that they are like me.

So, I had this friend who we'll call Patience. We became best friends. Patience works with special needs kids, and she has a nice demeanor. She is not at all a horrible person. She has done good things. And I thought she was like me.

Anyway, I listen to her for hours on end as she goes on about boyfriend troubles, work troubles, etc. I provide empathy and gentle advice. Every third conversation or so, we get to my stuff too, and it winds up being enough for me. And she has been understanding and gentle about my PTSD.

In return, I have dropped everything and taken her to the emergency room when she had a panic attack. When she had a surgery, I was the one and only person there taking care of everything. And truthfully, she did help call 911 when I was in anaphalactic (sp) shock.