Personality Cafe banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
444 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So this week life threw me a curve ball.

My happy, cool, and popular younger bro left a suicide note with a friend earlier this week (he is 5+ years younger than me). We found him before he was able to do anything - and I suspect - without validation - that he wouldn't actually..you know..attempt it. But I'm glad we don't have to find out.

I got a call from my mom all teared up asking me to drive them to the emergency room. I immediately left work and did such. I was stuck there for hours on end - from like 3 til well 11PM ish. they did all sorts of tests and what not on him. They then told us that we should take him to this place..its like youth services...he stays there for a few days and works on his mental health.

But this came as a complete shocker. Its not that I'm new to depression. I can't tell you how many times I've helped friends/acquaintances with depression and suicide. I've read at least 6 suicide notes by friends. I just was not expecting it from my little bro. I love hanging out with him and teasing each other. since we are both xNFP's we are very similar and its fun. He's one of my favorites. He's showed very little signs of any possible depression (he told me that he's felt this way for ~2 years). I mean, he's very idealistic - he puts my idealism to shame - and I feel like he hasn't learned like I have that its hard for people/life to live up to idealism.