Personality Cafe banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
547 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a noob with functions and all that, so if I say something wrong just correct me.
I heard that ENFPs can actually control their functions. In fact, there was a thread like this but it was 3 years old and inactive so I didn't want to post anything there.
Now to the question: can ENFPs actually control their functions to fit into a certain environment?
I'm asking this because I sometimes try to do it. (My percentages of E, F and P are quite low so this might have something to do with it.) I'm very good at working out people's MBTI so I use the information I have about them to work out the best way to interact with them.
Has anyone tried this? Is this unhealthy, or beneficial in that I may get along with people better?

·
Registered
346 Posts
Well yeah I do use shadow functions to better deal with situations and/or because the task I am given demands it.
It doesn't last too long because using functions that aren't Ne/Fi/Te can get very irritating, draining, and demanding for me. It wouldn't say it is beneficial because after all, we ARE charged by Ne and not Se/Fe/Te/Ti or whatever.

·
Registered
362 Posts
If you think of the functions as a set of skills, you can achieve improved performance in an area through practice.

For example, I have lived with so many introverts that I tend to spend more time alone than is reallt healthy for me. Another example is that I developed a belief that I needed to a strong T in order to recieve approval from the people in my life, and I have gotten completely alienated from my very strong F.