Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
His Majesty
12,625 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi people! I know there are not a lot of correlation's between type and race. But I have been wondering, have you seen more ENFP's in certain races more than others? I'm african-american (black) and I wonder if there are a lot of us that are ENFP or other races like latino, white/european, middle eastern, asian, african, caribbean etc. Please give me your valuble imput and IF you're comfortable, let us know what race/ethnic background you are. I think this will be interesting to see. Thanks everyone:wink:

·
Registered
79 Posts
Interesting topic... possible personalties based on ethnic backgrounds and traditional upbringing.

Still... I would think ENFP's would be pretty widespread across all ethnic backgrounds. I'm white so nothing special there :tongue:.

I'm not a pro on personality types..are they more genetic? I've had the same views of an ENFP for as long as I can remember. I would assume a majority of it would be genetic and a splash of experience. Then again it would make more sense personality is built over time through experience... I don't know. I'll just guess 50/50 right now.

·
Registered
248 Posts
I'm Caucasian, as you can clearly see in my avatar, and I would say that the ENFP typing is very widespread. As far as typing being genetic, that question spans back to the basic nature vs. nurture argument in sociology and psychology. The nature argument suggests that every aspect of our psychological being (temperament, intelligence, personality, etc.) is hardwired into us at birth with very little room for variation. Nurture suggests that we are conceived with a clean slate and our enviournment determines a vast majority of what we are like as we grow. It all depends on which professional you ask.