Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey friends!

I was wondering if any of my fellow ENFPs with a wicked case of ADD also had a challenging time learning to drive, and what you did to become good drivers.

Back story: I still do not have my driver’s license at age 24. There are some good reasons for this, namely that as a student my location and circumstances made driving unnecessary, and when I graduated a medical issue stalled the process for a while.

Now that the issue has been resolved, I am anxious to get my license and resume an independent life. However, I stink at driving, and my father gets frustrated taking me out to practice. Try as I might, the ADD makes focusing extra hard, even without distractions, and my dyscalculia makes any kind of spatial reasoning less than intuitive. Left and right get mixed up, I have no idea when to merge, what mirrors to look at when, and don’t get me started on reverse or parking.

I’ve taken lessons, but my first instructor kind of hit on me/made me uncomfortable (a shame, because he was good in other respects). That situation, and the fact that I physically freeze up when a man yells at me (perhaps due to childhood trauma, lol) made me resolved to only use a female instructor, but we have only one in the area and she was unhelpful in both lessons I took with her.

Have any of my fellow ENFPs/ADD sufferers managed to become good drivers? What advice do you have for improving the process? How did you adapt your learning style to driving? Any helpful hints to remember?

Thank you so much in advance for your help : )

·
Registered
297 Posts
I don't know if I have ADD but I'm 23 and actually going for my driver's lesson in a few minutes. I've taken lessons off and on for a long time lol. I was hypervigilant, had problems with my spatial sensing, I was just so nervous. I eventually just had to free up enough mental space to make room for learning how to drive.