Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
435 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Even my husband tells me that I come across as arrogant. :/ I really don't mean to at all, I have a lot of humility when I am wrong about things or when I am unsure. I have a LOT of random knowledge and apparently sharing it while using a large vocabulary makes me seem like an asshole. Does anyone else have this issue?

The other thing is, I feel like people have this ridiculous need to try to take me down a few pegs. I've been in a group on a forum for mothers for almost a year now and I am rather disliked. The people that did take the time to know me are awesome friends and I'm lucky to have met them. These other women are so amazingly catty to me and very condescending. Since they see me as thinking I'm better there is this relentless barrage of attacks and insults. I stay in the group because I have met some wonderful people in it. I'm really just wondering if anyone else has experience with anything similar.

·
Registered
4,583 Posts
Sharing random knowledge because you like doing so, accompanied by a large vocabulary because that makes it easier to describe what you're talking about, is fine.

Sharing random knowledge to let others know that you're more intelligent than them and to give yourself an ego boost, is not. And the large vocabulary just adds to it, when someone uses lots of big words all the time it feels like they're saying "I know these words and you don't, therefore I am superior".

Of course, people can't tell the difference between each attitude. You just have to disregard the people that refuse to see it in a different light, I guess.

Reactions: MyDarkAngel

·
Registered
435 Posts
Discussion Starter #3