Personality Cafe banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I can't really figure out what we're supposed to be doing.

Having succeeded living on what seems to be blind luck and a seemingly small supply of innate talent, I've now reached a point in the (SJ-dominated) sphere of the world where I feel that I will fail.

Whether that means fail within myself existentially by following my soul-sucking career path of sewer engineering and giving up on things that really make me feel alive (mostly because I don't have the tenacity or the patience to actually become better at them), or if I fail this last year of school that I'm bumbling through, I'm not sure, but it doesn't look great.

I'm too busy but I'm not good at any of the things I've chosen to commit my time to, or at least not good enough to actually make something of myself in the respective fields. I don't know where I'm going. Living in my theoretical world is slowly becoming more of a hindrance than an asset and I don't know how to make myself do anything, I've never had to try.

And I can't seem to care except in moments of complete defeatism in regards to their system. I don't really care that I'm not great at everything... I just know I'll never get the recognition I want (because jeez that's my only measure of self-worth, really?) unless I make myself better than I already am.

Best (and worst) of all, my flatmate is an INFJ that I can't talk about any of this with because it all just sounds like I'm complaining about being too good at too many things.

I know what to do, I know I have to start trying at things and make myself into someone but everything feels wrong. I don't want to. I can't seem to make myself want to. I've never had to.

And I swear if I hear one more person talk about how much "potential" I have, I'll rip their face off.

Any kind of inspiring stories or tips or whatever would help, thanks guys.

·
Banned
560 Posts