Personality Cafe banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Banned
1,843 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When I was 17 I befriended a girl at my high school. She was 15. Tall and blonde. In the theatre department, just like me. Fun, smart, very sweet. Probably an ENFP. Really liked her as a friend, but in no way thought of her as a girlfriend. Something about her didn't allow me to consider her girlfriend material. So I put her in the Friend Zone and that was that.

After I graduated, she and I kept in touch via AOL Instant Messenger and sporadic real life hangouts. We grew pretty close, pretty quickly, and my Friend Zoning of her made me curious. I thought: "Why don't I like her in that way? I feel like I should. But something's missing, so she's only a friend."

Months and months passed in our friendship. Then there were a few months were we didn't see one another offline at all. At this point, I've known her for about a year and a half, and she's recently turned 17. School ended for both of us and summer vacation began. She and I met up for dinner one evening, and when I saw her there waiting for me, I was stunned by her recent transformation.

She'd straightened her previously wurly hair and dyed it from blonde to orange-red. Her lips were now painted crimson. The outfit she wore was way attractive (an off-the-shoulders t-shirt). Online, she posted this picture highlighting a feature I hadn't noticed: haunting, melancholy green eyes. Suddenly she was alluring and glamorous and even sensual in a way that she wasn't before. I had caught her at the time in her life where she was changing from kid to woman. Yet she was still the same sweet, fun, quirky girl she was before.

We enjoyed a tasty dinner together, browsed a nearby video game store, and then we said good night and each went out separate ways. Lying in bed then, and over the next few days, I remember thinking to myself: "Wow, she's really amazing." She was definitely no longer in my Friend Zone. I was falling for her.