Personality Cafe banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
1,472 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Please can someone give me advice on how to manage my ESTJ colleague? She is not a bad person, but she has this urgent need to order and control everything and everyone around her non-stop. After spending an hour with this colleague I feel like I've been run over by a steamroller. She opens her mouth and talks non-stop, often over me, in a way that undermines me in front of others (not intentionally, just 'naturally'!!!). I don't know what to do. The only thing that seems to help is when I take command myself in a forceful and directive way like her, but this isn't my style at all and utterly exhausts me, it also feels completely inauthentic to me. I'm not young, I have a lot of experience of difficult colleagues, but this one takes the biscuit (and she's not even trying to be mean!).

For additional context, she orders and controls everyone else around her too, but many people don't mind as they are happy for her to take over their work for them. But in my case, I'm actually her senior manager (not line manager) and she should be deferring to me, but she can't stop talking long enough to listen, and I'm slower than she has the patience to wait for me to reflect and get my thoughts out. I feel so drained by having to interact with this lady every day.

·
Registered
7,994 Posts