Personality Cafe banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Banned
1,220 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi!

I'm relatively new to MBTI and have a couple of questions regarding the difference between ESTPs and ISTPs.

ESTP dominant function is Se and my dominant function is Ti. But are these really different between the two? And if so could you give me a couple of examples of how so.

I learned to ride a bike by myself when I was a kid and when I do stuff with Se my Ti stops and I go into some kind of flow.

I have a co-worker who is ESTP and I can really see the difference that he is much more extraverted in his Fe and that I have better Ni.

But aren't the real difference between us our tertiary and inferior functions?

We're both kind of fearless, like motorcycles, like to test other people (but I'm more subtle in my testing).

·
Registered
560 Posts
For me, a big difference is dominant perceiver (ESTP: Se Ti) vs. dominant judger (ISTP: Ti Se). In my experience, dominant perceivers (especially extraverted dominant perceivers) are more likely to say things off the cuff and seem more opinionated than an ISTP. The ESTP relies more on their perception, and judging or decision making (Ti or Fe) comes second. The ISTP relies more on their logic, and since it's very introverted logic, they'll wait until they have more information via Se or Ni before saying something they haven't thought much about. They at least try not to make assumptions, whereas assumptions sometimes helps an ESTP think (so it seems).