Personality Cafe banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I currently have about two months left in my current position and am back in the position of deciding what to do with my life. Well, I guess I never really left that position in the first place since the job I currently have is not even close to my dream job or what I studied in college. I have a BA in Religious Studies and am trying to decide what to get my Masters in. I keep going back and forth in my head between getting an MA and eventually a PhD in Religious Studies or Islamic Studies or getting an MSW.

I love Religion in general and I really love studying Islam (which is why I got a BA in Religious Studies). I read scholarly books on Islam quite frequently and I love learning and thinking about it. My husband thinks I should go to grad school for it. However, I am apprehensive about going to grad school in this field for a few reasons. The first is that I wonder if I am really prepared for it. Were my undergrad courses really rigorous enough to prepare me for grad school in this field? The second is the amount of time. If I went into this field I would want to teach at the university level which would require a PhD. I would need to get a MA first, especially so that I could become fluent in Arabic and a language like French. It would take about two years for the MA and who knows how long for the PhD. It just seems like it would take a long time and I would have to delay children for a longer time (I don't want to have children and try to finish a PhD either).